7th MDS Symposium

The 7th International Symposium on Myelodysplastic Syndromes toka place in Paris, France from May 15th to May 18th, 2003.


The head of the local organizing committee was professor Pierre Fenaux. Other members of this committee were François Dreyfus, Nicole Casadevall, Jean-Henri Bourrhis, Christine Chomienne, Salem Chouaib, Florence Cymbalista, Herve Dombret, Jean Feuillard, Claud Gardin, Agnes Guerci, Bruno Quesnel, Sophie Raynaud, Vincent Ribrag, Christian Rose, Michel Tulliez, Ali Turhan and Eric Wattel

A second announcement and call for papers was issued in October 2000, and the deadline for abstract submission was February 2003.

Contact information:

  • Symposium Secretariat, Check up Service, 16, Avenue de General Faidherbe, BP 42 ö 94732 Nogent sur Marne cedex ö France. Phone: +33 1 48 77 01 13, Fax: +33 1 48 77 08 63, and E-mail: webmaster@checkup-service.com
  • Scientific Secretariat, Pierre Fenaux / Mrs. Myriam Cambie, Service des Maladies du Sang, CHU, 1 place de Verdun ö 59037 LILLE ö France. Phone: +33 3 20 44 57 13, Fax: +33 3 20 44 47 08, and E-mail: mcambie@oncospace.com or pfenaux@chru-lille.fr.

Scientific Topics at this event

  • Classification
  • Epidemiology
  • Cytogenetics and molecular genetics
  • Apoptosis
  • Other biological factors
  • Treatment
  • Supportive care and quality of life

The members of the scientific committee were John Bennett, David Bowen, Mario Cazzola, Theo de Witte, Elihu Estey, Georges Flandrin, Michaela Fontenay-Roupie, Arnold Ganser, Norbert Gatterman, Peter Greenberg, Terry Hamblin, Eva Hellström-Lindberg, Philip Koeffler, Alan List, Moshe Mittleman, Ghulam Mufti, Charlotte Niemeyer, Jens Pedersen-Bjergaard, Claude Preudhomme, Azra Raza, Guillermo Sanz, Kevin Shannon, Mary Thomas, Gregor Verhoef, Yataro Yoshida and Neal Young.